Oops – I fell off of the Blogging Bandwagon!

So, as I had previously discussed, in an earlier blog post this week, you need to think about your desire to be consistent with your social media. Are you willing to make a commitment to post content to your blogs, Twitter and Facebook on a regular basis? If you aren’t, then should you still try this whole social media thing? Sure – it never hurts to try something new and see if it will work for you. We are living in a whole new society where people are spending many hours on the computer, on YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and so on. We have become a society engrossed in instant and constant news updates.

So I fell off of the blogging bandwagon after 14 posts! I had thought things out and decided that I was up to the challenge of writing an article each and every Sunday that I could then divide up into daily blog posts. This is what the social media ‘experts’ are advising that you do. “I can do that” I thought. But what do you do when your thought process dries up? You keep plugging forward!

I would like to provide you with a short outline of information that I have gleaned, that compels me forward in my efforts to conquer the social media challenge.

• If you put a blog within your website, your site will be indexed by the search engines faster and rated higher, because you have frequently updated content.
• More name/company/brand exposure on the internet. Nowadays just putting up a website and waiting on the customers to come to you just doesn’t cut it. There are over a trillion website on the internet.
• If you give out valuable information on your blogs, helpful tips or little tidbits that other people are charging their customers for, then people will come looking for you because you were helpful to them, without necessarily trying to sell them your product.
• By getting your name/company/brand out there on Twitter, YouTube, Facebook and blogs, you get in front of your potential customers. A lot of time is spent on the internet nowadays – shopping, local searches for businesses and so on. You need to be found.

So, I missed my Wednesday post this week. Did the world stop revolving – no. I’m hopping back on the blogging bandwagon with a sense of determination. Does that mean I won’t fall off again – definitely not, but you dust yourself off and get back up again.

I hope that I am giving you some information that you find valuable, or at least entertaining, in your efforts to bring your businesses into the world of social media and blogging!

Tune into tomorrow for What’s a Widget – a discussion of what extra components you should be using on your blog to get the most out of your efforts.

Leave a Reply

