Secretaries – We Make Bosses Look Good!

Throughout the years, in my role as a Secretary/Administrative Assistant, I have worked for many different bosses at many levels of authority.  I have worked in a 2 man office and I have worked in skyscrapers for large companies such as Bordens and MeraBank.  Keep in mind that I did not take one college course, yet I found myself organizing and assisting bosses who had much more education than myself.  I had bosses who made $200,000 and more, but couldn’t organize themselves or spell correctly.  But I guess you would call that job security.

In 1980 I moved from Ohio to Phoenix, Arizona.  My parents had moved to Florida a few years before that, but ended up going to California when my dad got sick, and somehow landed in Phoenix.  My mother perceived the distance between Ohio and Phoenix to be much greater than the Ohio to Florida distance and was missing me.  Fortunately for her I broke up with a boyfriend, and said “I’ll show him, I’ll move to Arizona!”.  Silly huh?  So off I went, driving cross-country with my mother (oh boy!).  I moved in with them until I got a job, in Sun City West.  At 24 years of age, I didn’t really fit into the whole Sun City West area.  I couldn’t understand why most of the time I just got dirty looks from the older folks in the stores and around the neighborhood.  It was so strange to look out into the yard and see gravel (where’d the grass go?).  I moved out in November and couldn’t figure out, for the life of me,why people were wandering around in jackets, wool clothing and sweaters.  I pulled out my summer clothes and sat outside in my swimsuit getting a tan!  These are now people who I easily identify as “snow birds!”  Funny how the tables turn, isn’t it.

It’s a huge adjustment moving to a whole new town.  I left behind all of my friends and the only city I had ever lived in.  I must admit that I cried most of the way between Ohio and Arizona.  My allergies are much worse out here, unfortunately.  Fortunately, I found a job and was working and out on my own in an apartment again, not too long after moving here.  I had to get rid of the vehicle I brought out with me because it had no air conditioning and vinyl seats.  Not conducive to job hunting – you don’t look to impressive when you’re a sweat ball!  Fortunately, secretarial positions are usually readily available.  There is competition, but you can usually land a secretarial job with a little bit of persistence.  I went to work for a 2 man CPA’s office for a few months, and that was my beginning of life in Arizona.

We’ll talk more tomorrow.  I hope you’re enjoying following along as reminisce.

One response to this post.

  1. You know, I have to tell you, I really enjoy this blog and the insight from everyone who participates. I find it to be refreshing and very informative. I wish there were more blogs like it. Anyway, I felt it was about time I posted, Ive spent most of my time here just lurking and reading, but today for some reason I just felt compelled to say this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

