Your Attention Please!

I was reading a blog post this morning, passed along and shared by a contact I’m ‘friends’ with, even though I have no idea who she is. Now I’m passing that blog link on to you, so it proves that Twitter and Facebook really do accomplish what we entrepreneurs are looking for when using it, more exposure. As I sat here at 7:15 in the morning, watching a 24/7 cable news program, I began to think about how difficult it is to get people’s attention in our current world. Everyone is on overload – the TV never signs off anymore. Do you remember the days when the local channels played the Star Spangled Banner and signed off at midnight? Seems so long ago doesn’t it. Cable TV, cell phones, the internet, MP3 players and podcasts, meetings, networking. No wonder we’re such distracted human beings. I fear for our children.

http://networkedblogs.com/9PhdU Facebook can help you get party booking by Jennifer Fong.  So now I realize there is hope in being found on the internet!   Before I saw this post shared on Facebook I had no idea who Jennifer Fong was, and in all likelihood, I may never have discovered her.  I think we all come into this somewhat naiive, thinking that if we put up a website, have a few business cards made, some brochures, and slap a magnet on our cars that people will hunt us down and plead with us to do business with them.  Very soon we find this is not the case.  Where do we go from there?  Many people give up or switch to another ‘franchise’ type business – there are plenty of them out there – Avon, Scentsy, Prepaid Legal, MaryKay and the list goes on and on.  Is the next company going to help you succeed any easier – no, because your personal success lays solely in your lap.  My parents were in Amway for years and years and I remember seeing the sadness on their faces when someone ‘below’ them that they had recruited, bypassed them and achieved higher ranking and success than they did.  But they kept plugging along.  I helped too – I went door-to-door when in high school, selling Amway products because we believed in them.   
 
 
 

What makes you stand out from the crowd? 

 
What makes you different from the other millions of Scentsy reps out there?  The products you are selling are identical, so why should I buy from you vs. the next Scentsy rep I run into?  Is it just a matter of timing – you’re there when they are inspired to buy?  Perhaps.  Was it the creative way you displayed your product?  Perhaps.  We will never know.  Definately use social media, but don’t rely on it solely.  Good old fashioned face-to-face contact is a dying art but something that I think some people still enjoy, but not all.  We live in an off-standish world, where people don’t smile at each other, or say hello, when they walk by, which makes me sad.

 
 

If you’re on Facebook, here are my suggestions:

  • Definately create a page for your business.  If you’re not sure how to do this, see my post on creating a Facebook Page.
  • Connect with people – not only friends but those you have met networking. 
  • Don’t try to direct sell.  See how indirect contact can get you a sale also by reading Jennifer’s post.  It’s the whole concept of Facebook and Twitter.  You create a wave of information that keeps going out from the center (your initial post), to reach people you would have never reached without the ‘sharing’.
  • If you put out an important offer or event, ask people to share it with their friends.  Contact your friends through a private message asking them to pass along your post.  Someone did this with me yesterday and I was glad to do it.  It only took a moment of my time and I thought it was worth passing along.
  • Always check out the information associated with the links you pass along.  When I’m in Twitter, it’s tempting to just quickly hit the retweet button when a title associated with the link sounds interested.  You should be aware what you are ‘sharing’ as folks will think you’ve read it and found it acceptable.
  • Do create events in Facebook, instead of just sending something out in a post.  Posts are quickly lost on people’s newsfeed and they may not scroll through to see what has been posted in the last few hours.  Events are always on the right side of the page and easy to see.
  • Do ask people to RSVP for your events – gentle reminders are perfectly fine and people usually appreciate them because they mean to RSVP but get distracted.  Ask them to invite their friends to your event.  I didn’t know that I could do this until one day I saw the invite people button under the events’ photo.  Maybe they just don’t know they can – so educate and ask.

Facebook and Twitter do work, but don’t bet your livelihood on them.  I think there is too much hype focused on them currently, but ride the wave while it’s happening.  Don’t let social media pull you under the water – keep on surfing!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Great Blog post. I am going to bookmark and read more often. I love the Blog template if you need any assistance customizing it let me know!

    Reply

    • Thanks for stopping by and reading my post. I’m new at all of this and am still in the ‘evolving’ process – deciding who I want to be when I grow up! We all have many skills, but need to find a focus to put our energies into. I’m still refining myself. I love to write, so blogging is perfect for me! I’m currently a ‘student’ in WordPress. I have a wordpress.org blog I’m working on through my hosting company, and it is measurably different from wordpress.com! I learn by doing, which is why I have so many dents in my head (from hitting it on the wall!). I will stop in and check out your marketing tips. It has been my greatest challenge – how to market myself. Am I a product, a service, just me??

      Reply

  2. Thanks for sharing my post! You’re right, social marketing, when used appropriately to share authentic value, can certainly help us spread the word about our businesses. Good luck with your business!

    Jennifer Fong

    Reply

    • No problem at all. I’m all about sharing and passing along good information that will benefit others. I hope you will do the same with any of my blog posts you find informative or fun. We’re all just working hard to be seen out there and find those whom we can assist!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

