Facebook Places

Facebook rolled out a new feature called “places” not too long ago. I hadn’t paid much attention to it, because I don’t have internet on my phone. Even if I did, I don’t know if I’d be inclined to take the time to “check in” when I arrive at stops along my way. However, I can see the potential exposure for your business if you have loyal customers who take the time to “check in” when they arrive at your establishment. It goes on your friend’s wall and they see where you’re hanging out. It might be a restaurant they hadn’t heard of yet, or a great secondhand store.

What’s so exciting about having a “place” page you ask? More exposure, of course! You can broadcast on your business page that people can now “check in” when they come for a visit, to help give your business more exposure. You can also add a “deal” to your “places” page. I’ll explain more about that in my next post. When you initially find your “places” page, the profile picture will be a blue teardrop, like the placemarkers on google maps. That will be your clue. Unfortunately, it is another seperate page, so put a post on it’s wall for your fans to keep in touch with your business through your official business page. You are able to merge your “places” page with your business page, but I have not had success in getting that accomplished yet.

I am assisting a Cafe owner, and discovered she had a “place” page the other day. I’m not sure how she acquired it – according to Facebook they are gradually rolling out this feature, so not every business automatically has one. It may have been due to one of her customers ‘checking in’ on their cell phone. We may never know, but it’s there so we’re going to take full advantage of it!
I thought I’d share this short explanation with you, on how to use the feature.

Who can use the Places feature?
At this time, the Places application is available to users in select countries with mobile access to the Facebook application for iPhone, Android, Blackberry v1.9, or touch.facebook.com. Places will be rolled out more broadly and to other mobile devices and the web in the future. Please make sure that you are using the most up-to-date software version for your iPhone, Android, or mobile device or the Places application may not function properly. Alternatively, you can access the Places application through your device’s web browser by following these steps:
• Point your browser to http://touch.facebook.com.
• Tap the Places tab.
• When you are prompted to share your location, tap “Share Location.”

If you are still experiencing problems, please note that you may not yet be able to use the Places application because it is a new feature that is being gradually rolled out. In the meantime, you can check The Facebook Blog for updates on product launches and other Facebook-related stories.

Here is a link to a comprehensive list of questions and answers related to Facebook “Places”. http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=18372&ref_query=Facebook+Pla#!/help/?page=1159

I’ll have further explanations about “places” and “deals” in my next post, so stay tuned. Until then…Cindy

2 responses to this post.

  1. hello I was fortunate to find your Topics in wordpress
    your topic is superb
    I obtain a lot in your theme really thanks very much
    btw the theme of you blog is really marvelous
    where can find it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

